Ah To Be Young Again

Hubby and I had the honor of being invited to the dress rehearsal of a newly re-vamped outdoor theater drama.  A dear friend of ours is the director and it was interesting to get a little bit of a behind the scenes look at all that goes into bringing one of these productions to fruition.  Until last night, I didn’t know that outdoor drama was a common beginner step for people wanting to develop their career on stage.  Because of this the majority of the actors and actresses were young college aged men or women probably ranging in ages from 18 to 25.

Being amongst a group of people half my age at first made me feel old, but then made me feel nostalgic.  That stage in life was awesome.  It was a time before mortgages or too many responsibilities.  Not much depends on you at that age because you have barely, if at all, figured out how to depend on yourself.  At that age the options are endless as you are only just beginning to make the decisions that tend to narrow the paths available for you to walk down.  For a moment I longed for a time in my life when things were…different.

The moment was fleeting.  On the drive home I settled into the enjoyment of having a life that only comes with having the experience of living 2 20 year old lives.   This stage in life is awesome too.  A time when I know who I am and what I want.  A comfort in my skin and reliance on my being that I never could have imagined 20 years ago.  As I’ve grown I’ve become knowledgeable in a career, more financially secure and realized more dreams than I had even had at 20 years old.

Leave a Reply

