Perfection

IMG_3063

The other night I read THIS blog post by almostfarmgirl.  I could resonate with so much of what she said about the trials and the difficulties that can come with keeping animals and trying to manage the space in which they and humans live together.

But then there are nights like tonight.  Nights that are perfect and I cannot imagine having any other lifestyle.  We have officially entered late Summer.  The afternoon was warm, but dry and the early shadows hint of a Fall that is right around the corner.  I was screwing around in the barn doing chores and I could hear the horses in the far pasture blow out every now and then, the hounds were barking in the back yard and the chickens were caught up underneath my feet as I tried to get the barn aisle swept.  I heard the muffle of my neighbors pick up truck come down our drive.  He pulled in bearing gifts of watermelon for the hens.  We talked lazily about the gentleness of the birds, the daily news and what the weather would look like this weekend.

It was all so ordinary and easy.  It could have been one of a thousand other evenings.  And it was all so blissfully perfect

2 comments

Leave a Reply

