The Wolf You Feed

Photo Credit Given To soldatnytt at: https://www.flickr.com/photos/36368978@N07/4665286561

A Cherokee Legend

“It is a terrible fight and it is between two wolves. One is evil – he is anger, envy, sorrow, regret, greed, arrogance, self-pity, guilt, resentment, inferiority, lies, false pride, superiority, and ego.” He continued, “The other is good – he is joy, peace, love, hope, serenity, humility, kindness, benevolence, empathy, generosity, truth, compassion, and faith. The same fight is going on inside you – and inside every other person, too.”

The grandson thought about it for a minute and then asked his grandfather, “Which wolf will win?”

The old Cherokee simply replied, “The one you feed.”

I don’t remember when or where I first heard or read this legend but it has always stuck with me and one that I carry with me and reflect upon frequently.

It is so true in life that what we focus on is what we get.   What we put our energy into is what comes back and our mindset determines the filter for which the world comes to us through.

When I first started working Uptown I didn’t love going to the concrete jungle everyday.  The city, filled with crowds, traffic, pavement and corporate America, is the opposite of everything I crave in life.  I had to find a way to like it, to think of it as a good a place…and I did.  I created a game called “moments of joy”.  The object of the game is to find joy every day in something that I observe around me in the city.  Through the years these moments have come in many forms; laughter from the baby being pushed in a stroller, a hello kiss by the couple meeting for lunch, a kind word from the clerk in the coffee shop.  Joy is all around and easy to find when you are surrounded by lots of people.  I actually enjoy the city now, how can you not enjoy a place filled with joy?  It was all about the wolf I fed.

Leave a Reply

