Work

“Work is not man’s punishment.  It is his reward, and his strength, and his pleasure” George Sand.

A co-worker was talking to me about her oldest going off to college. She shared that she is trying to teach her children to follow their passion so they can find a dream job. The old saying goes “do what you love and you’ll never work a day in your life.”

I didn’t say this her, but I don’t think this is a complete picture of the real world. Part of my job is recruiting, hiring and retention and I would say that the majority of my staff is not making a living following their passion. I would also say that the majority of my staff works for a really good company, with wonderful people, they are content in their work and leave at the end of the day satisfied with the work they’ve done. They are making a living and able to do things outside of the office which they ARE passionate about. This is enough.

Work-Hard-And-Be-Proud-Of-What-You-Achieve

I think we should teach children to be happy and content in what they are doing. Teach value in hard work and work ethic instead of just chasing this elusive dreamy career. Those dream careers no matter what your passion is, are limited. At some point most of the people are going to have to come to terms with the fact that they are going to have settle on something that pays the grocery bill.

I see a recurring theme in the younger staff that doesn’t think their job should ever be boring, monotonous or below their skill level. As an employer we try to limit this, try to keep people engaged, however, at some point we are all going to be get bored, we are all going to have something about our job we don’t like and we are all going to feel underutilized and frustrated.

stage3
This is a lie!!!!!!

I have friends that have chased those dreams, found those careers and are doing what they love, are passionate about the field which they work in. Guess what???? They still have days where they are frustrated, underutilized, bored and working below their skill level. Days that they are “working”. It is the nature of exchanging our time and labor for pay.

I’m not saying we shouldn’t teach children to dream big and aim for jobs they love, but, that is a one prong approach which is missing another important component. In addition to dream big, let’s instill in our children the ability to find extraordinary in the ordinary. An internal happiness and sense of self as a contributor which will lead to passion and fulfillment in whatever work they do.

6 comments

  1. Exactly! Love the way you express this. Seeking perfection in employment is a great way of ending up disappointed. Life isn’t one hundred perfect, fun and enjoyable at all times, and it’s unrealistic to expect that from any job.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Totally agree Julie! I consider myself fortunate in that I truly love the field I work in, but I accept that it isn’t all sunshine and roses. Its still awesome and I’m grateful that I get to do it.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Just had this conversation yesterday with a high school student who seemed to feel bad that he didn’t know at age 16 what was going to be his super-fulfilling dream job so he could start gearing himself for the right college already.
    I had just read this and also shared with him that I am a violinist- ‘living the dream’. If anyone should feel like they never work a day in their life so to speak you would think it would be a musician.
    While I do love my work- it is still work. I still have to get up in the morning and sometimes spend 8 hours with a different student needing 100% attention every 30 minutes. I have to communicate with parents and schedule classes and figure out how to help students who struggle — etc.
    many days I’d rather be riding my horse. Then I consider how glad I am that I don’t make money riding horses because I think the more true statement is “one way to kill you passion is to turn it into your job!”
    I would suggest kids need to have a better understanding of the kind of environment they need to function well… 9-5 office… With people… Alone with a computer… Ordered? Flexible? Managerial or more hands on? These are so much more important to figure out!!
    — I still love music– and I do enjoy my work.

    Like

Leave a Reply

