Bye 2016

As the sun sets on 2016 I have to say I’m not entirely sad to see it go, it has not been my favorite year.  Although it has been a busy year filled with many great adventures, it has also been a year filled with a lot challenges and trials.

I guess the year your Dad dies is bound to go down on the books as less than stellar.  It was a year flooded with emotion and many tears,  happy memories and all the roller coaster ups and downs that comes along with grief.

love-06

Professionally it has been a tough  year.  I’ve learned a lot, although some of these things I didn’t really want to know.  I didn’t accomplish all of the things I wanted to and my ability to remain compassionate was tested in new ways.  I questioned my commitment to my profession and my ability to do a good job.

20130625-134900

2016 has not been all hard times though.  There has been a lot of great moments as well.  In fact in reviewing my calendar for the year I’m amazed at how many things I’ve done.  Mostly horse related but some non-horsey stuff too.  A wedding, trips to Texas, multiple horsey camping weekends, a yoga retreat, a women’s retreat, riding clinics, a vacation to VA, riding lessons, The Rolex in KY, my first dressage show, countless day trip trail rides (actually I did count them…43) , working cows and the cherry on top beach ride.  At times it has been a whirlwind.

IMG_6291

As the year comes to an end there are still a few fun adventures to be had, but mostly these next couple of weeks, for me, my husband and my horses, things are going to be about winding down, enjoying the holidays and re-connecting with gratitude for all the blessings and richness we have in our life.

 

 

5 comments

  1. Interesting I have found much of what you wrote true for me and some other friends. It seemed a year full of some hard things, growth and also some wonderful things too.

    I can’t imagine how difficult losing your dad was and is- but I also remember it was somewhat a release too (for him and you).

    One thing I am finally able to say looking back on some of the dark days and thedeep challenges- I wouldn’t trade them for how it was before this year.

    I am grateful for how they’ve shaped me. I hope it’s the same with you- I love reading what you’re up to!

    Cheers to a fruitful and vibrant 2017 for you, and all of us!

    Like

  2. Some years, we just have to just sort of quietly wave good bye to, not missing them at all.
    I’ve been there. Several years, truthfully.
    Usually when things look really bad, there’s something really fun ramping up, just waiting to happen.
    Who knows, maybe Spring 2017 will be one of the best times…
    Fingers crossed for you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

