Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Pairs

“Life, like poker, has an element of risk. It shouldn’t be avoided, it should be faced” – Ed Norton

On Christmas Eve my husband and I took a walk around Uptown Charlotte. I was armed with my camera and had the upcoming challenge themes in the back of my mind.

Upon entering the park I spotted this pair, but was quick to dismiss them as I THOUGHT they were sitting together but actually paying attention to their phones. As I got closer I realized my error and was pleased to see them engaged in a card game.

I started to shoot them from afar. A few shots from behind the bushes, because I like the candid shots, the ones where my subjects don’t know they’re being caught on film. I was not very stealth though and it did not take long for the Mother to spot me. Her Husband, playing frisbee with the Boyfriend in their own “pairs” photo, laughed that they had flown all they way from South Dakota just to be photographed in Charlotte.

We chatted and I learned that the Daughter and her Boyfriend lived here and the Parents were visiting for the holiday. They were enjoying our 56 degree day. They were expecting 2 degrees upon their return home.

The women were happy to continue with their game as I snapped the shutter, circled around and got in closer for different perspectives.

Imagine my delight when I was able to glimpse the cards and see that one in this pair was actually holding a pair of pairs.

My submission for Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Pairs

3 thoughts on “Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Pairs

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.